52.1: Photos, and Taking Our First Zero

Some of you may have noticed that my Flickr account updated with a bunch of initial photos recently. I’ll try to take some more photos with my phone, as I can upload those directly, without finding a computer to connect my camera to. But in the meantime, here’s some ones to give you an idea of what my trail life is like!

I’m currently spending a zero day (meaning a day of rest, not hiking) at the brand spankin’ new Top of Georgia Hostel and Hiking Center. Two nights ago, I was tenting at an overflowing shelter, and woke up late at night to find my tent wall about an inch from my face. It had snowed about an inch of heavy wet snow. That morning, I spent about 20 minutes lying awake in my sleeping bag trying to persuade myself to get out into the cold, eat breakfast, and pack up.

I was warm enough in my bag, but it was forecast to be even colder – 10 degrees, before wind chill! – the next night. So we, like most other thru-hikers it seems, trucked our way to the next road, and got a ride to a nice, heated place to sleep. Top of Georgia Hostel was overflowing that night. However, given that we have been hiking hard days and that my right knee had been developing a minor muscle injury, we took a zero. I’m now writing this near the end of that zero day, and I feel so much more refreshed and rested – it’s wonderful. My knee is still a little tender, but I’ll put my brace on that knee tomorrow, and just take it easy on it still.

It’s hard to believe were already a majority of the way through Georgia – only 3 days left until we cross into North Carolina!

Mountain Crossings Hostel -> Low Gap Shelter (tenting) -> Top of Georgia Hostel (+ zero day)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment